The History of EMMET COUNTY, 1884|
CARLOS D. HAMPTON, M. D., was born in Ontario County, N. Y., April 1, 1821. In 1832 his parents, James and Prudence Hampton, removed with their large family to what was then considered the wilderness of the west, and settled three miles west of where the village of Tecumseh now stands. After securing the best education offered by the district schools and the Tecumseh University, he taught school and studied medicine, completing his medical education at the Cincinnati Medical College. He began the practice of his profession at West Unity, Ohio, in 1845, and soon after removed to Medina, where he entered into partnership with Dr. David Brown. This partnership proved so satisfactory that the following year he formed another, this time for life, with Miss Cornelia C. Drown, oldest daughter of Appolos Drown, one of the earliest pioneers of Lenawee County, and the first militia captain in the State of Michigan. In the fall of 1858, Dr. Hampton's health had become so impaired by the demands of his large practice that he decided upon a change of climate and moved to Hunt County, Texas, where he purchased a tract of land, and went into the business of stock-raising. When the secession of Texas was being discussed, he took an active part, and at the peril of his life, stumped the northern part of the state in a vain attempt to prevent his adopted state from taking that fatal step. This action made him a marked man with the secessionists, and after hostilities began they made several attempts upon his life. Finally, yielding to the solicitations of his anxious friends, he left Texas, and under pretense of going to join the rebel army, he at last succeeded, after numerous narrow escapes, in getting through to the Union lines, where be enlisted in the Ninth Illinois Cavalry. In October, 1862, ten months after her husband left, Mrs. Hampton decided, against the earnest protests of friends, who thought it impossible for her to get north,to try and make her escape from Dixie. Shrewdly deceiving the suspicious rebels as to her real intentions, she disposed of some of their stock and household goods, and with her three boys, aged respectively fourteen, ten and six, started to drive 700 miles through a country devastated by war, and infested with bands of bushwhackers and guerrillas. After a thrilling experience she at last found protection under the old flag at Memphis, and was soon among her friends in Michigan, where the first information as to her husband's whereabouts was received. Resigning his position, he returned and settled with his family at Hudson, where be enlisted as surgeon of the new Fourth Michigan Infantry, in the summer of 1864. After his regiment was finally mustered out, he removed to Muir, where he resided until the spring of 1875 when he became a pioneer in the village of Little Traverse. When the town was incorporated as Harbor Springs, he was elected village president, and for several years has been county superintendent of the poor.
A. J. SOUTHARD, banker at Harbor Springs, is a native of Cattaraugua County, N. Y., and came to Michigan with his parents when three years of age. Upon arriving at an age when he began to lay plans for the future, he took up the study of law, and was admitted to practice in Shiawassee County, in April, 1865. After practicing a short time, he made a trip west to look after some business interests. In 1867, having returned, and having acquired a large farm in Ionia County, be settled upon it and carried on farming about three years. In 1876 he came to Harbor Springs from Portland, and practiced law for a time, but gradually drifted out of law as other interests required his attention. In 1879, in comany with W. E. Parker, he built the flouring-mill, of which be is now exclusive owner, having purchased Mr. Parker's interest. He has extensive real estate interests, and owns the mill dock; also an interest in the other dock and a large tract of water front. In January, 1882, he engaged in the banking business, which he still carries on. The building in which his bank is located was built by him in 1881. He is a very successful business man.
ISRAEL CANBY, representative in 1883, from the district composed of Cheboygan, Emmet and Charlevoix Counties, was born in Logan, Ohio, and is now fifty years of age. Was raised on a farm, and received a good common school education. Soon after he became of age the farm was dispensed of, and with other members of the family he moved to the county seat, where he took charge of a railroad, freight and ticket office, continuing in that occupation three years. He then engaged in the milling business until the war of the rebellion. In April, 1861, he enlisted, and was elected captain of his company. The company was assigned to the Twenty third Ohio Volunteer Infantry. After serving three years and four months, was mustered out by reason of expiration of term of service. He was then engaged in various occupations with varied success until in 1872, he was obliged to abandon active employment by reason of a chronic complaint contracted in the army. In 1874 he came to Northern Michigan for his health, and in the spring of 1875 settled on a homestead in the town of Friendship, Emmet County, where be resided three years. Was elected three times supervisor of that town, and also elected two terms county treasurer. Prior to the expiration of his second term as county treasurer he was elected upon the Republican ticket representative in the legislature of 1882-'83.
ALBERT L. HATHAWAY, clerk of Emmet County, is one of the pioneer farmers of the county. He is a native of Washtenaw County, and served with distinction in the civil war. He entered the service Feb. 12, 1863, as sergeant of the Eighth Cavalry. Jan. 18, 1864, was promoted first lieutenant; taken prisoner during Stoneman's raid, Aug. 12, and exchanged Sept. 27. Dec. 27, 1864, promoted to captain, and mustered out of service Sept 22, 1865. In 1876 he removed from Livingston County to Little Traverse Township, where he located 160 acres of land in Section 11, being one of the earliest farmers in the county. He has held the offices of clerk, treasurer and supervisor of the township, and in the fall of 1882 was elected county clerk. He has a wife and five children.
G. W. DICKINSON, sheriff of Emmet County, is a native of Warren, Ohio. He was in the civil war from its beginning until its close. In 1861 he enlisted in Battery E, of the regular army, and was in the service until March, 1865. His rank was lieutenant colonel. In 1875 he removed to Harbor Springs, and the following year built the Emmet House, which he kept about three years. In 1883 be engaged in the livery business, which he still continues. In the fall of 1880 he was elected sheriff of the county, and re-elected in 1882. He has also held the office of trustee of the village. He has a wife and three daughters.
BENJAMIN T. HALSTEAD, attorney, Harbor Springs, is a native of Brooklyn, N. Y. He graduated from the Indiana University in 1876, and was admitted to the bar in Barry County, Mich., in June, 1880. In 1882 he removed from Barry County to Harbor Springs, and engaged in the practice of his profession, which he successfully continues. He holds the office of justice of the peace. Has a wife and one son.
WADE B. SMITH, Harbor Springs, is a native of Ingham County, Mich. He studied law at Jackson, and was admitted to the bar in March, 1876, at Mt. Pleasant. In December, 1880, be removed to Harbor Springs, and opened an abstract office. He is a member of the bar of the county, and holds the office of justice of the peace.
WILLIAM CROSBY, judge of probate of Emmet County, is a native of Steuben County, N. Y. In 1866 he was admitted to the bar in Oceana County. In the summer of 1879 he purchased 110 acres of land in Section 17, Little Traverse Township, upon which he located. His residence is delightfully situated within a short distance of the village. In the fall of 1880 he was elected judge of probate on the Republican ticket. He has a wife and two children. He is prominently identified with the interests of the county.
JAMES L. MORRICE, treasurer of Emmet County, is one of the first settlers of Friendship, and one of the pioneer farmers of the county. He is a native of Ionia County, Michigan. In 1875 he removed from there to the town of Friendship where be purchased a farm in Section 15. He has been one of the leading men in the affairs of the town and has held the offices of treasurer, clerk and supervisor. He was appointed treasurer to succeed Mr. Palmer in 1883. He is also is a member of the board of county examiners.
A. L. DEUEL, attorney, Harbor Springs, is a native of Oakland County, Michigan. After leaving school he followed teaching about six years. In the spring of 1880 he graduated from the law department of the Michigan University at Ann Arbor, and shortly after removed to Harbor Springs and engaged in the practice of law. He has held the office of prosecuting attorney of the county, and is also a member of the village school board and the board of county examiners. Mr. Deuel is a prominent Republican. His family consists of himself and wife.
C. H. EATON, hardware merchant, Harbor Springs is a native of Niagara County, New York. In the summer of 1856 he removed to Michigan and settled in Clinton County. In September, 1861, he enlisted as a member of Company B, Third Michigan Cavalry and was in the service until the close of the war. In the summer of 1883 he removed to Harbor Springs, and succeeded E. H. Martindale in the hardware business. The style of the firm is C. H. Eaton & Co. He has a wife and three children.
A. M. WESTON, a prominent merchant of Harbor Springs, is a native of Cayuga County, New York. In 1866 he removed to Michigan and settled in Kalamazoo. In the spring of 1878 he removed to Harbor Springs from Albion, Calhoun County, where he had been engaged in the mercantile business. At Harbor Springs he opened a store in a small building 18 x 4O feet in size. As his business increased he has enlarged the building until in 1884 he occupies two large store rooms with a general stock of merchandise. Mr. Weston is a successful business man and one of the leading merchants of the county. He has a wife but no children.
A. WILSON, Harbor Springs, is a native of Sheboygan, Wisconsin. In September, 1879, he removed from that place to Harbor Springs and engaged in the fish-catching business which he still continues. He has a wife and five children. Mr. Wilson does a large and successful business.
G. W. SEGER, member of the Novelty Works and Saw Mill Company, Harbor Springs, is one of the pioneers of the village. He is a native of Redford, Wayne County, Michigan. August, 1862, he enlisted in Company D, Twenty-fourth Michigan Infantry, and was in the service until June, 1865. In an engagement on the Weldon Railway he received eight gun-shot wounds. The injury though serious was not fatal. In 1874 he removed to Harbor Springs from Reed City. He is a carpenter and millwright by trade, and has charge of the operation of the Novelty Works, in which be is a partner. He has a wife and three children.
C. W. CASKEY, builder and lumber dealer, Harbor Springs, is a native of Barry County, Michigan. In 1880 he removed from Allegan to Harbor Springs and engaged in business as contractor and builder. He also has a lumber yard at Harbor Springs and another at Point St. Ignace. He carries on an extensive business and has built most of the cottages in this vicinity and at Mackinaw Island. He has a wife and four children.
Continue to the next page...
[top of page]